«

»

Feb 25

Demand Equality! Allow Specialty Beer/Wine Stores of all sizes to obtain WA Liquor licenses

In Washington State, BevMo and Total Wine & More are licensed as Specialty Beer/Wine Stores — and they can get a Liquor license. My store is licensed as a Specialty Beer/Wine Store and I am unable to get a Liquor license.

The difference? Building size.

#DemandEquality

Washington State Senators have acknowledged the need to give small Specialty Beer/Wine Store the right to sell craft distilled spirits, voting overwhelmingly in favor of SSB 5731 (43 Yea, 4 Nay). The bill went before the Government Accountability & Oversight committee on Monday, February 24, and Committee Chair Representative Christopher Hurst refused to put it up for vote, calling it not “prime time.” Our legislative contacts say he’s been pressuring his committee members to vote no. This is a bill sponsored by a Democrat and it’s being held hostage by a Democrat.

We are in favor! Our customers are in favor! Washington Small Distillers are in favor! The Washington Retail Association is in favor! Why does Rep. Hurst refuse to support Washington small businesses? Why does he refuse to put it to a vote?

We need your help to move this bill through committee and enact it into law. Speak up and show your support of local, family owned small businesses. We need a public record; we need a vote.

EMAIL – EMAIL – EMAIL!
PHONE CALL – PHONE CALL – PHONE CALL!
NOW – NOW – NOW!

Email – ASAP

To: christopher.hurst@leg.wa.gov,sharon.wylie@leg.wa.gov, cary.condotta@leg.wa.gov, jeff.holy@leg.wa.gov, brian.blake@leg.wa.gov,steve.kirby@leg.wa.gov, luis.moscoso@leg.wa.gov, matt.shea@leg.wa.gov, brandon.vick@leg.wa.gov

Cc: karen.keiser@leg.wa.gov

Subject: Vote ESSB 5731 out of committee

Text:

Dear Representatives,

I shop at specialty beer/wine stores and demand that these businesses be treated fairly in Washington State. Specialty beer/wine stores should be able to attain a license to sell liquor regardless of building size. Stop the corporate favortism. Allow small specialty beer/wine stores to carry craft spirits. Please vote YES on ESSB 5731 and move it out of committee this week.

Sincerely, [YOUR NAME, ADDRESS, PHONE]

Phone – ASAP
Rep. Chris Hurst (360-786-7866)
Rep. Sharon Wylie (360-786-7924)
Rep. Cary Condotta (360-786-7954)
Rep. Jeff Holy (360-786-7962)
Rep. Steve Kirby (360-786-7996)
Rep. Luis Moscoso (360-786-7900)
Rep. Matt Shea(360-786-7984)
Rep. Brandon Vick (360-786-7850)
Rep. Brian Blake (360-786-7870) – Rep. Blake is on board! Please thank him!

Let’s go get ‘em!

1 comment

  1. Tiffany

    **Author’s note: “Liquor” indicate “Spirits” in the title and opening sentence. (Technically, Beer/Wine are classifications of Liquor, as are Spirits.)

Comments have been disabled.

Sharing Buttons by Linksku